Wheelchair Sports Federation | Adaptive Sports Organization
2011 NE Blazers Memorial Wheelchair Basketball Tournament Print E-mail
Written by John Hamre   

Bulova Nets (NJ) wins 2011 New England Blazers Memorial Wheelchair Basketball Tournament


The NY Nets, Nassau Kings, Bulova Nets went to the Brockton (MA) VA to play each other along with the NEPVA Celtics and the New England Blazers Wheelchair Basketball Teams.


Hosted by the New England Blazers the weekend of Dec 10 – 11, 2011. When the weekend was over, the Bulova Nets were crowned the Champions. Bulova won all 4 of their games with ease. They started off by beating the two teams from Massachusetts then went on to beat their cross town rivals, The NY Nets and the Nassau Kings.

All tournament team honors went to David Deas (NY Nets), Chris St. Remy (Nassau Kings), Paul Ward (Bulova Nets), Steve Yedlock (Bulova Nets), Chris Kile (Bulova Nets), Bryan Melo (NE Blazers), Joe LeMar and Steve Davis (NEPVA Celtics). Joe Mendez (NY Nets) took home the Sportsmanship Award and Chris St. Remy (Nassau Kings) took home the MVP.


NEPVA Celtics 42  vs  Bulova Nets 58
NEPVA Celtics 66  vs  NY Nets 22
NE Blazers 30  vs  Nassau Kings 54
NY Nets 23  vs  Bulova Nets 79
NEPVA Celtics 61  vs  Nassau Kings 57 (OT)
NE Blazers 21  vs  Bulova Nets 67
NY Nets 40  vs  Nassau Kings 57
NE Blazers 43  vs  NY Nets 33
Bulova Nets 69  vs  Nassau Kings 30
NE Blazers 42  vs  NEPVA Celtics 44

Last Updated on Thursday, 15 December 2011 05:33
Written by John Hamre   
The NYC Mayor's Cup Wheelchair Basketball Tournament featured 8 of the best wheelchair basketball teams from around the country as they competed for the prestigious NYC Mayor’s Cup trophy.  Now in its 11th year, the NYC Mayor's Cup has become one of the premier wheelchair basketball tournaments on the National Wheelchair Basketball Association (NWBA) calendar.
After a very exciting day of games at Manhattan College’s Draddy Gymnasium on December 3, the stage was set for the playoffs that took place on December 4 at Horace Mann High School.
The Bulova NJ Nets looked like they could not be stopped as they beat the Rochester Wheels (New York) handily by a score of 70–43 in the first quarterfinal game. Josh Lewis of the Wheels led all scorers with 19 points while Dylan Levine and Paul Ward each added 17 points for the Nets.  In the other quarterfinal game, the NEPVA Celtics (Massachusetts) defeated the Connecticut Spokebenders by a score of 50-36.  The Celtics got 14 points from Bill Hill, while Josh Levine led the Spokebenders with 9 points.
The Nets and Celtics both advanced to the semifinals only to face the Nassau Kings (Long Island) and the Bay State Clippers (Massachusetts), who both earned quarterfinal byes because of their play from the day before.
The two local teams matched up against each other in the first semifinal as the Kings took on the Nets, while the two teams from Massachusetts faced off in the second game.
The Nassau Kings continued their dominance from Saturday with a decisive 52-39 win over the Bulova (NJ) Nets. Christopher St. Remy put the team on his back and carried them to the Championship game with 24 points, including a few big 3-pointers early in the 2nd half to seal the victory.  Chris Kile was the high scorer for the Nets with 12 points.
In the other semifinal, the Celtics upset the Clippers by a score of 52-36.  Once again, Bill Hill led the way with 18 points for the Celtics and Omar Benitez did all he could for the Clippers with 18 points of his own.  In the 
end, the Celtics were too much and were headed back to the championship game to try to win their third NYC Mayor's Cup Championship in a row, but first they had to get past the Nassau Kings.
The Kings knew that they had to get the ball to Christopher St. Remy and the Celtics knew they had t stop him in order to take home the trophy.  When the final buzzer sounded, the Nassau Kings were able to accomplish their goal and unseat the Celtics as 2011 NYC Mayor’s Cup Champions.  The game was close, but the Kings came out on top, 47–41. St. Remy finished with 22 points for the Kings and Steve Davis led the Celtics with 17 points.  St. Remy took home the Matthew Sapolin Memorial MVP Award as he dominated throughout the weekend and left no doubt that he was the Best in the City.
The All-Tournament Team was composed of three outstanding players from the weekend: Omar Benitez (Bay State Clippers), Dylan Levine (Bulova NJ Nets) and Bill Hill (NEPVA Celtics).
Last Updated on Friday, 09 December 2011 04:09
Handcyclers join Veterans Day Parade in NYC Print E-mail
Written by John Hamre   
This past Friday, November 11, 2011, 10 handcyclers from Wheelchair Sports Federation joined the Wounded Warrior Project and rode up 5th Avenue for the 2011 New York City Veterans Day Parade.  They were part of a team that honored all veterans and those who are currently serving.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 November 2011 23:40
Sled Hockey Clinic For Kids in Central Park NY Print E-mail
Written by John Hamre   
On Saturday November 12, 2011 NYC Parks and Recreation hosted a Sled Hockey Clinic for children with physical disabilities. NYC Parks and the Wheelchair Sports Federation are actively seeking members to start the first ever Jr. Sled Hockey Team in the NYC area.
To find out more about sled hockey or other disabled programs visit the parks website at www.nyc.gov/parks or contact Victor Calise, Accessibility Coordinator|New York City Department of Parks & Recreation, 1234 Fifth Avenue, Rm. 201 | New York, NY 10029, O: 212.360.3310 | F: 212.360.3314 |
Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 November 2011 23:42
CUBS WIN! CUBS WIN! Print E-mail
Written by John Hamre   

RIC Cubs Take Home Championship at 10th Annual Major League Wheelchair Softball Tournament


Written by Peter Quartuccio


FLUSHING, NYOn Saturday, September 17 at Citi Field in Flushing, New York, the RIC Cubs did something their Major League counterparts haven’t done in 103 years: win a championship.  The Cubs in fact finished the 10th Annual Major League Wheelchair Softball Tournament undefeated, outclassing their competition on their way to the title.  Fueled in large part by exceptional fielding and aggressive yet prudent baserunning, the Cubs finished off their 2011 campaign with a 13-3 thrashing of the New York Mets in the Championship game.  They were in truth nothing less than a juggernaut, with four members being named to the All-Tournament team—catcher Larry Labiak, second baseman Hector Bruno, third baseman Curtis Moore, and outfielder Chris Lease— and their pitcher Alex Parra winning the Most Valuable Player Award.


            Their loss to the Cubs aside, the Mets played well during the two-day event, as they received typically strong performances from Mets’ veterans Eddie Lopez, Eddie Jorge, Joe Mendez, and Dave Deas, the latter two of whom were All-Tournament Team selections at shortstop and first base, respectively.  The Rollin’ Red Sox, who finished in third place, also had their moments, including a one-sided victory over the New York Yankees in their last game.  Pitcher Gary Clarke was an All-Tournament Team selection, as he proved himself to once again be among the best players on any diamond, anywhere.  The New York Yankees and Magee Phillies both had a rougher go of it, but neither showed any signs of dejection or evinced an ounce of quit.

            Thanks to all the volunteers, and a special thanks to Carter Farmer, photographer for the Wheelchair Sports Federation who received the Al Youakim Award, a distinction she richly deserved, in recognition of her tireless coverage and stalwart dedication to this and all adapted sports for the past three years.

            For more information about this and other adapted sports and events, please visit www.WheelchairSportsFederation.org.

Last Updated on Monday, 26 September 2011 04:11
<< Start < Prev 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next > End >>

Page 40 of 48