Quad Rugby Print E-mail
 What is it?
rugby 1Quad rugby is a cross between wheelchair basketball, ice hockey, and soccer, and is played on a regulation-size basketball court with minor changes. Four players compete on each side of the court with each player being classified according to the level of their mobility impairment and assigned a point value for their classification. At all times, the sum of the classifications competing on each side can total no more than 8.0 points. The game consists of passing a volleyball back and forth while advancing into the opponent’s half of the court. Scoring occurs when the opposing team crosses over the goal line with the volleyball.

Who can play?
For eligibility, quad rugby players must have a combination of upper and lower body extremity impairment. Many have some type of quadriplegia and are classified as to their abilities. Each player is given one of seven classification assignments ranging from 0.5 to 3.5, with 0.5 being the players with the greatest impairment. Men and women compete evenly in this sport due to the classification system based on impairment only.

Quad rugby developed in Winnipeg, Manitoba, by three Canadians in 1980. Brad Mikkelson, through the University of North Dakota’s Disabled Student Services, brought the sport to the United States in 1981, and the sport has grown so that dozens of teams compete nationally in pursuit of the most coveted quad rugby trophy in North America, the Mikkelson Cup. In 1998, the USQRA was formed to help regulate and promote the sport both nationally and internationally. With teams competing throughout the world, quad rugby has grown to be a truly international sport, debuting in 1996 at the Atlanta Paralympics.

Only a regulation-size basketball court and volleyball is needed to play quad rugby.

Quad Rugby Point System
Players may have various disabilities that preclude their play in able-bodied sport competition. Players must have a combination of upper and lower extremity impairment to be considered as eligible to participate. Most of the players have sustained cervical level spinal injuries and have some type of quadriplegia as a result. Players are given a classification number from one of seven classifications ranging from 0.5–3.5. The 0.5 player has the greatest impairment and is comparable to a C5 quadriplegic. Of those eligible to participate, the 3.5 player has the least impairment and is similar to a C-7–8 incomplete quadriplegic. Both male and females are encouraged to play. Due to the classification process, gender advantages don’t exist. Rules:
  1. A player has 15 seconds to advance the ball into the opponents’ half court
  2. Fouls are assessed and penalties can include the awarding of a goal, a timed penalty, or a turnover
  3. A player the ball has unrestricted pushes, but must pass or dribble the ball every 10 seconds or a turnover is awarded
National Governing Body:
United States Quad Rugby Association

International Governing Body:
International Paralympic Committee


Last Updated on Monday, 29 June 2009 00:57