Written by Administrator   




Top Wheelchair Athletes in the World to Compete on 14 Teams From Across the Country;

Many Men and Women Are Wounded Veterans, Paralympic Medalists


Citi Field is the First Major League Baseball Venue to Host the Championships;

First Time Tournament Will Be Played in New York


FLUSHING, N.Y., August 18, 2010 – The New York Mets, the Wheelchair Sports Federation, and New York City Department of Parks and Recreation today announced the 34th Annual National Wheelchair Softball Tournament will take place Thursday, Friday, Saturday August 19-21 at Citi Field, marking the first time a Major League Baseball ballpark has hosted the event.


The top wheelchair athletes from around the world will compete on 14 teams from across the country.   Many of the men and women playing in the tournament are veterans who were wounded in battle, and many have competed and won medals at the Paralympics.


The Mets sponsor a Queens wheelchair softball team of their namesake, and have teamed up with the Wheelchair Sports Federation to host the Major League Baseball Wheelchair Softball tournament for the past nine years.  This year’s National Championship will mark the first time the event has been played in New York.


“We’re proud to be a part of this inspiring and historic competition, the first time the best wheelchair softball athletes in the country are competing at a Major League Baseball venue,” said Jeff Wilpon, Mets COO.  “The Mets throughout the year support wheelchair softball in New York as part of our ongoing community outreach efforts, and we salute the Wheelchair Sports Federation and United Spinal Association for their efforts in our hometown and nationally.”


“Having the best Adaptive Athletes in the United States come to New York City and compete is a great honor and we are happy to be a part of this historic event and look forward to many more." said John Hamre, President, Wheelchair Sports Federation.


Mets sponsors Pepsi, Dunkin’ Donuts, Modell’s, Subway and Wise all have donated their products to help feed and equip the more than 300 men and women participating in the tournament.  More than 50 volunteers – many from the New York City Office of Emergency Management – will donate their time to help run the event.


The Mets, Wheelchair Sports Federation and NYC Department of Parks are coordinating the tournament in conjunction with the National Wheelchair Softball Federation, and Major League Baseball.


Teams will compete for the Division I and Division II National Championship in a double-elimination tournament played in the Citi Field parking lots.  The semi-finals and finals will take place Saturday, August 21 followed by an awards banquet.  The event is free and open to the public.

The following are the teams competing for the national title:


  • Columbus Pioneers (Columbus, Ohio)
  • Confluence Center Coast Tar Wheels (Indian Trail, North Carolina)
  • Courage Rolling Twins (Brooklyn Park, Minnesota)
  • Nebraska Barons (Omaha, Nebraska)
  • Midwest Flyers (Dolton, Illinois)
  • MPVA Flamethrowers (Duluth, Minnesota)
  • Nassau Aviators (Nassau County, New York)
  • New York Mets (Flushing, New York)
  • New York Yankees (Bronx, New York)
  • RIC Cubs (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Rollin Red Sox (Boston, Massachusetts)
  • Shepherd Sluggers (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Tampa Bay Rays (Tampa, Florida)
  • WPVA Warhawks (Waukesha, Wisconsin)

All games will take place in Citi Field parking lots F and D. Teams will play Thursday, August 19 and Friday, August 20 from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.


On Saturday, August 21, the semifinals begin at 9:00 a.m. followed by the championship game at 11:00 a.m.




#  #  #


For more information contact:

Danielle Sessa Parillo                                              John Hamre

Director, Communications                                       Wheelchair Sports Federation

New York Mets                                                       917-519-2622

(718) 565-4354                                                        This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Last Updated on Sunday, 05 September 2010 18:08